Don Bessette Motors Inc

1715 NORTH BROADWAY

MINOT, ND 587031362

Latest Filing: 2023Financial Data Through: 2023Source: DOL Form 5500-SF

Plan Data Available

Source-backed retirement-plan information is available to benchmark this dealership.

Report found

We found Don Bessette Motors Inc's 401(k) profile.

Here's an honest preview of what's available on this profile. Scroll down for the full breakdown, or tell us who you are and we'll point you to the right next step.

What's available

2 of 6 sections

Participation trend· Needs 2+ comparable filings
Employer contribution benchmark· Ranked vs national peers
Fee analysis· Not reported on this filing
Asset performance trend· Needs 3+ filing years
Historical filings· 2 filing years
Recordkeeper· Not identified

Which best describes you?

The leading signal

Don Bessette Motors Inc

No Trend YetParticipation Rate · 3-Year Trend
No trend yet
The participation-rate trend appears once at least two consecutive filings report both active and total participants.
No trend yet · Workforce footprint
Employer Contribution / Participant
$1,525
vs $852 National Median
Employer Percentile
Above Median
Higher than 73% of peers
Where this sits vs national auto-dealer peers.

Participation rate is filed, but a 3-year trend is not available yet — it appears once at least two consecutive filings report both active and total participants. Employer contribution per participant is shown below.

Secondary context · Employer-contribution standing
Workhorse ↔ Racehorse
Above Median Nationally
73th
percentile
WorkhorseRacehorse
Median

Benchmark Scorecard

Observable, source-backed metrics. No inferred grades or quality scores.

Employer Contribution / Participant
$1,525
vs $852 National Median
Above Median Nationally

The lagging confirmation of plan health. Below median signals under-investment in workforce retention — the dollar has yet to follow the leading active-saver signal.

Participant Contribution / Participant
$4,517
vs $3,435 National Median
Above Median Nationally

The leading signal of plan engagement. A rising trajectory precedes the lagging employer-contribution dollar; below median can signal gaps in auto-enrollment or plan design.

Plan Assets / Participant
$143,692
vs $48,309 National Median
Top 10% Nationally

How seasoned the workforce is. Below national median can also indicate higher-than-needed employee turnover.

Employer Contributions
$93,053
Latest source filing

Total annual employer contribution from the latest DOL filing.

Plan Assets
$8.8M
Latest source filing

The retirement pool employees are building. Larger pools reflect longer-tenured workforces.

Plan Participants
61
Latest source filing

Active employees covered by the plan — the scope of the dealership's retirement offering.

Local Dealerships with a More Competitive 401(k) Plan

Every comparable dealership we track in ND, ranked by employer contribution per participant. Names and locations are public; head-to-head contribution numbers unlock when you verify your dealership email.

1.Schwan Buick Gmc Cadillac
MANDAN, ND • 102 mi
Contributes / participant
$8,803
2.Torgerson Auto Center, Inc
BISMARCK, ND • 104 mi
Contributes / participant
$2,893
3.Red Rock Ford, Inc
WILLISTON, ND • 107 mi
Contributes / participant
$2,003
4.Puklich Chevrolet, Inc
BISMARCK, ND • 100 mi
Contributes / participant
$1,761
5.Westlie Motor Company
MINOT, ND • 1 mi
Contributes / participant
$1,609
6.Dvorak Motors, Inc
BISMARCK, ND • 104 mi
Contributes / participant
$1,608
7.Eide Ford Lincoln
BISMARCK, ND • 103 mi
Contributes / participant
$1,326
Ryan Gmc
MINOT, ND • 3 mi
Ranking available
Ryan Chevrolet
MINOT, ND • 3 mi
Ranking available
Bill Barth Ford, Inc.
MANDAN, ND • 101 mi
Ranking available

No credit card. Verify with your dealership work email and every contribution number in this list unblurs — plus your own full benchmark.

Source: U.S. Department of Labor Form 5500. Peer contribution amounts unlock with a verified dealership email or an advisor pass.

All-In Plan Cost

The total cost of running this plan — recordkeeping, administration, custody, advisory, and fiduciary fees — as a percentage of plan assets. Community-sourced from the dealership's own 408(b)(2) fee disclosure.

Not yet contributed

The all-in cost comes from a dealership's own fee disclosure. Verify your dealership email and contribute your plan data to publish it here — and unlock the benchmarked cost analysis.

Contribute plan data

Peer Position

Where this dealership ranks on Employer Contribution / Participant across cohorts of similarly comparable dealerships.

National Auto Dealers
Above Median
Higher than 73% of peers
4966 valid peers
ND Dealers
Room to Grow
Bottom 62% of peers
32 valid peers
Members
null Dealers
Insufficient peer data
Below 10 valid peers — ranking hidden
Contribute plan data
Similar-Size Dealers
Top 25%
Higher than 76% of peers
1327 valid peers

How You Compare

A side-by-side read of this dealership’s plan against the national industry average — and the gap you need to close to reach the peer median.

Peer averages from the DOL Form 5500 national dataset, 2023

Employer Contribution / Participant
Annual employer match & profit share per active participant.
Your Plan$1,525
Industry Avg$8524966 peers
Gap vs Avg+$673(+79%)above avg
Percentile73th
Participant Contribution / Participant
Employee deferrals per active participant.
Your Plan$4,517
Industry Avg$3,4355531 peers
Gap vs Avg+$1,082(+32%)above avg
Percentile72th
Plan Assets / Participant
Total plan assets per active participant.
Your Plan$143,692
Industry Avg$48,3095605 peers
Gap vs Avg+$95,383(+197%)above avg
Percentile92th
Admin Cost / Participant
All-in administrative expenses per participant. Lower is better.
Your Plan—
Industry AvgInsufficient peer dataContribute plan data
Gap vs Avg—
Percentile—
Admin Cost (bps of Assets)
Admin expenses as basis points of plan assets. Lower is better.
Your Plan—
Industry AvgInsufficient peer dataContribute plan data
Gap vs Avg—
Percentile—
Fee-to-Outcome Ratio
Employer $ generated per $1 of admin spend. Higher is better.
Your Plan—
Industry AvgInsufficient peer dataContribute plan data
Gap vs Avg—
Percentile—

Engagement Trajectory

Active-saver trajectory is the leading signal; employer contribution is the lagging confirmation. Public filings from 2022 to 2023. Missing years are not interpolated.

20222023020406080
Fewer than three annual filings with usable values — no trend available for active-saver trajectory.
Years available: 2022, 2023

Reported Plan Data

The public filing record behind every metric on this page — for audit and trust.

Plan SponsorDON BESSETTE MOTORS, INC.
Plan NameDON BESSETTE MOTORS INC 401(K) PLAN
EIN Members450359908
Plan Number001
RecordkeeperNot yet contributed — contribute plan data
Waiting PeriodNot reported on this filing — contribute plan data
Trustee / Custodian—
Custodian Phone—
Recordkeeping Fees—
Latest Filing Year2023
Financial Data Year2023
Participants (active, EOY)61
Plan Assets$8.8M
Employer Contributions$93,053
Participant Contributions$275,552
Total Contributions$368,605
Plan Type401(k) + Profit Sharing + 401(m)
Source FormDOL Form 5500-SF
Source Filing ID20250319100846NAL0004749185001
Verify your dealership email

Verify your dealership email to unblur your numbers and the local competitive field.

Enter your work email at Don Bessette Motors Inc and we’ll send a code. Once verified, every contribution number on this page unblurs — your own benchmark and the full local competitive field — and you can schedule a free call to improve your standing. No credit card.

Your email is used only to verify you work at this dealership. No credit card, no auto-bill.

Leadership & Contacts

Who runs Don Bessette Motors Inc

Senior executives surfaced from public sources. Verify your access to view names and emails.

D••• B••••
Owner
R••• B••••
General Manager
R••• D••••
CFO
K••• B••••
General Sales Manager
S••• P••••
Sales Manager
J••• H••••
Parts Manager
or I'm an executive — submit my info

Are you a financial advisor? Turn the dealership 401(k) market into your prospecting pipeline.

See the advisor prospecting tools →